The Results Are In!

So, just to recap, my daughter and I have recently removed gluten and dairy from our lives, in what I’m calling our Slice of Life Diet, at first simply because it coincides with this challenge. Little did I know then that this diet would slip into three of the past four posts and work to earn its name.

It’s been three weeks since we modified our food intake upon the advice of our naturopath. Before we got the results of the blood test that would run her antibodies against 90 different foods, it was a safe bet that dairy and gluten were the likely culprits in the crime against her skin: eczema that covered both legs like ants on a picnic spread.

In three weeks, we’ve gotten really good at trying out new things and relying on old favorites to see us through the transition to a world without ice cream and bread. Old favorites like breakfast for dinner, minus the toast, with eggs made fluffy at the hand of a nine-year-old.  It is the first meal she can make for us without help.

“It’s the only thing I know how to make,” she told me tonight as tears streamed down her face.

Yes, the results are and she is not only allergic to dairy and gluten, but eggs and “many more foods” that will be revealed in our appointment next week.

“This sucks,” she says.

“Yes, this sucks,” I tell her. In my mind, images flash:

I once heard Michael J. Fox make sense of his disease by saying that if we all put our problems in the center of a circle and could take anybody’s problem as our own, we’d take our own.

He’s right. “Yes, this sucks,” but this is my “this sucks.”  I know it is these moments that make us stronger, that shape us into the people we are meant to be, the people that others need us to be.

So how do I communicate all that to my nine-year-old?  I start with “Yes, this sucks.” And I sit with her in the car as her tears subside.  And I help her make choices at Qdoba that she’s always loved.  And I drive her home, listening about the fight that happened at school today.  And I sit with her while she flips through the channels.  And I help her make choices about a bedtime snack, berries that she’s always eaten by the handful.  And I promise that we will work through this “this sucks” the way we have all the others: together.  And I remind her that when this “this sucks” feels big and hopeless, that I will carry her through.

Though I know she won’t need me to.


slice of life challengeI’m participating in the ninth annual Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers. Submit your own slice in their daily call post or simply show up to read and enjoy the slices of over 250 writers across the world.  Bookmark those that inspire you or that you could use as mentors for your own writing or for your student writers.

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. litcoach64 says:

    I love the line, “And I promise that we will work through this “this sucks” the way we have all the others: together. ” That’s how all of us get through the “this sucks”. Thank you for reminding us how important we are to each other!

    Like

  2. travelinma says:

    Cruel turn of events! Sound like you two will take this as an adventurous culinary challenge. I recently changed my diet due to health issues and it has infused an excitement in my meals that hadn’t happened in a long while. Perhaps you will write a cookbook together!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      I love that idea! Thanks!

      Like

  3. Holly says:

    I needed to read, or see, or hear these words tonight…

    He’s right. “Yes, this sucks,” but this is my “this sucks.” I know it is these moments that make us stronger, that shape us into the people we are meant to be, the people that others need us to be.

    Thank for sharing. When we are going through a “this sucks” moment, we need that reminder that it won’t suck forever and that we will be stronger for it.

    Good Luck to you and your daughter.

    Like

  4. I can’t imagine, all of a sudden, not being able to eat food that you enjoy. It will be more heartbreaking for you on how you feel towards your daughter going through this dietary change. Your support will be her wall to lean on while she’s trying to accept and live with the changes.

    Like

  5. bbutler627 says:

    Oh my, keep at it. It’s sooooooooo hard. I’m two and a years gluten free now. We’ve been mostly dairy free since my youngest is lactose intolerant. It sucks, but you’re doing it and you’re helping. All those issues are big, but so are dietary changes – they are lifestyle changes. I’ve never not known someone to really struggle the first month. I feel for your fam… Excellent quote insert btw.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.