The Slice of Life Diet

I never thought I could do it: Eliminate dairy AND gluten from my diet. Yes, you heard that right! No cheese, yogurt, ice cream AND no bread, pasta, or tortillas.  No Mexican restaurants, or at least not anything I typically order.  No toast with my breakfast, or any Friday Treat from the lounge for that matter.

But I’m almost three weeks in.  Yes, there have been a few slips here and there–some intentional, others not–but mostly I’ve found new flavors to indulge my cravings: almond flour muffins, dark chocolate, and coconut milk smoothies made smoothier with half an avocado.  I know, right!?!  And there is pasta, if you can get used to the way rice tastes with marinara.  (I’m still working on that one.)

The point is, I never thought I’d be able to go a day without cheese.  And now I’m doing it, making space for new routines and new favorites.

And you know what this reminds me of?  This time last year, I never thought I could write for thirty-one days straight. And then I did.  I made space everyday to write, sometimes in the morning before work, sometimes after my daughter was tucked into bed. The point is, once I started, making space became easier.

One of these days, maybe I’ll feel that way about cheese.  Until then, I’ll feed my cravings with a pint of cashew ice cream, and I’ll write my way through March.


 

slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge over at the Two Writing Teachers.  Thirty-one days of small moments. Who’s with me?

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. smcninch says:

    Congratulations! I’m impressed with your perseverance in facing the challenge of changing your diet. I, too, started SOL last year and realized it was a great way to regain control of my life and now I am remembering how I also regained control of my eating last March as well. Thank you for the perfectly timed inspiration to go at it again!

    Like

  2. JulieK says:

    I don’t think I have gone a day without cheese. You must have a great deal of willpower. Your post made me laugh.

    Like

  3. C.Crouch says:

    I love the idea of making space for things in your life. It is so true…just when we think we are full to the max, we can squeeze something else in and receive such great pay offs. I’m sure you will rep the benefits you are searching for in your new “diet”. I can’t even begin to think what I would eat if I had to eliminate those things from my diet…you are super strong! Congratulations! Keep going! http://crouchcorner.blogspot.com/

    Like

  4. Ana says:

    Love your ideas here and so happy for you and your lifestyle change. I don’t know what I would do without gluten and dairy but I hear people are super happy with how they feel after doing so. I’m new to this SOL writing challenge and nervous about writing everyday and finding time. I will keep in mind “It’s all about making space!” Thanks for that advice!
    Ana

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynn says:

    My niece is gluten free, which today is not awful because there are some great GF products on the market today, BUT dairy free, that has to be really tough! Good for for you!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.