A Seuss of a Secret

A-B-C-D-E-F-G…

Did you start singing? It’s hard not to.  This is how–just a few years ago–my daughter and I discovered the secret in a beloved Dr. Seuss book.  You know the one that starts:

BIG A

little a

What begins with A?

Aunt Annie’s alligator……… A… a… A.

This book is especially beloved at my house.  When I was three–so I’m told–there came a Sunday where I was sick. My sister was sick. And my dad was sick. What was my mom to do?  She went to the store–so I’m told–and bought books. Dr. Seuss books.  One for each of us.  And inside the front cover, capturing this moment for all time, she wrote in all caps:

SICK SUNDAY

MARCH 13, 1983

Flash forward thirty years and imagine me tucked in alongside my daughter reading books before bed.  Several of the pages get a running start at the alphabet:

ABCDEFG

Goat

girl

googoo goggles

G… g… G

And that’s how we found it, the book’s hidden secret: every page sings.  Don’t believe it? Get your pipes ready and hum a few bars of The Alphabet Song (which, by the way, is also the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”) to get yourself ready.  Got it?  Now sing:

BIG A

little a

What begins with A?

Aunt Annie’s alligator……… A… a… A.

Who knew the guy that brought us Horton, the Lorax, and a fox in socks would hide a Seuss of a secret in the pages of a book about the ABC’s? I guess I shouldn’t really be surprised.

Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!


I am participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge over at the slice of life challengeTwo Writing Teachers.  Join us all month as we write and connect.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, I love this story! Less about the song (I prefer to read that favorite in my own rhythm) but more about making a sick day better, inscribing books, passing books down generations- so many good things. And just reading the passages you included in your piece made me so nostalgic for those lap-reading days. Sweet slice. Happy Birthday to Dr. Seuss from me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa R says:

    I love this! I’ll never read Dr. Seuss in the same way again.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Morgan says:

      I’ve heard that more than once today!

      Like

  3. chrisleish says:

    I am so excited to share this with my 5th graders. We are exploring song lyrics as pieces of writing- this is just the reverse- so COOL! Thanks for sharing. I shared on FB so be warned.

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Thanks for sharing in and spreading the joy we had when we discovered this secret!

      Like

  4. So happy I caught your call out to a “Seuss Secret” because I will totally be sharing this with my third graders. Love it! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

