Breakfast for Dinner

It’s usually a Wednesday night tradition. Me, tired from a staff meeting.  You, anxious to get food in your face.  Okay, that’s me, too.

But last night we had leftovers, which meant that this week, Thursday is the day for it: Breakfast for dinner.  Eggs and bacon tonight.  No bread or muffins, in case you’re looking to catch me slipping in my Slice of Life Diet.  Just eggs and bacon.  Crispy bacon.  The kind that cracks into smaller pieces when you pick it up off the tray.  And eggs. Eggs so fluffy since you started making them.  It must be the way you tend to them, not trying to get the coffee pot ready or the dishwasher loaded, but just giving them your full attention.

And now they’re gone.  Eggs and bacon.  And all that’s left is homework and a blog post and it’s almost Friday.  An Friday-eve made better tonight by breakfast for dinner.


 

slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers. This is day three of the thirty-one-day challenge.  It’s not too late to make space for daily writing in a community that is encouraging, enthusiastic, and eager to read what you have to slice about.  Join in!

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    This is great! I love the description of your dinner, especially your carefully tended to eggs. This could be great inspiration for anyone looking for Slice ideas. Do you mind if I use it as one of my Be Inspired Posts later this month when I’m hosting the challenge? Please email me your permission at danamurphy143[at]gmail.com.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. readsomuch says:

    YUM! Nothing better than breakfast for dinner!

    Like

  3. Sonia says:

    I love this. You really evoke bacon so I can almost taste it. And I like the idea of mixing up your meals.

    Like

  4. strasskt says:

    happy Friday eve! sounds like a great way to spend it! I wrote about food today too 🙂

    Like

  5. I love it! I love it! Direct…Poignant…and above all delicious! The mood is life is good.

    Like

  6. bbutler627 says:

    I knew there was something better than tacos to eat tonight… This is awesome. I especially love the way you describe the eggs and how they were tended to by someone else in contrast to how we clean and cook at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What I love about SOL is how inspired I am by what everyone else is writing. Breakfast for dinner was a family tradition growing up – every Sunday night it was Rice Krispies or omelettes. I think I’ll have to write about that someday.

    Like

  8. Your post reminded me of how my mother always used to make us pancakes on Fridays for supper during lent. My father hated it. But, us kids loved it. Thank you for the smile. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.