Mind the Gap

Our learning today followed a predictable format, one we’ve come to replicate in our PLCs, our professional learning, and in our teaching.

  1. Celebrate success. 
  2. Study the standard.  By this, I don’t mean always the academic standard, but instead the ideal, the exemplar.  What is it we want for our students?  Today, we tackled the structures of work time.  You know, the large chunk of time between mini-lesson and share?  What makes up the essence of each component:  conferences, small-group, collaborative partnerships and groups, independent time? For me, I was drawn to the part of the workshop that I still have my toes in:  small group.  What would I describe as essential?
    • Teachers
      • teach a learning target based on a similar need (not necessarily level)
      • reinforce application of previously taught skills as well as current and future learning
      • guide with questions, prompts, and cues while students are reading to help them achieve success
      • guide students to name their own successes and struggles and to set goals for themselves
    • Students
      • read at their instructional level
      • add the learning of the day to their repertoire of strategies or skills
      • explain their struggles and successes
      • set goals to improve
  3. Name the Gap. This next step always reminds me of my trip to London in the ’90’s.  When waiting for the Tube, a voice proclaims, “Mind the Gap” only in Britain “gap” sounds like a two syllable word.  Anyway, this tasks asks us to define one thing that is keeping our Work Time components from reaching an ideal.  What essential might be missing?  That’s an easy one:  We don’t always read during our reading group.  That is a problem for a reading intervention.  I can certainly keep this as simple as that, or I can dig deeper:  I am not prepared to navigate the behaviors that interfere with reading time.  Students do have enough positive reading experiences to make the struggle a worthy one.  Of course, there is always option D:  all of the above (and then some)!
  4. Create an Action Plan.
    •  What will I do?  (I love how writing often unlocks possibilities that I hadn’t yet considered.)  I will make positive reading experiences a more predictable part of our group time. (I’m not even sure I like how that sounds.  Don’t get me wrong, I love how that sounds.  But I’m not sure it hits the mark.  Essentially, I want to override their reluctance the way I do in writing, by helping them see their successes.  Hmmm.  Maybe this is something I need to think more about, because in writing I capitalize on choice and other values tha
    • How will I do it? 
      • Stick to a routine, no matter how “off” we get on a given day:
      • Read first.  Begin with reading (and a snack) to ensure we capitalize on their best energy at the start.
      • Read last.  End each group with a beloved read aloud (and another snack) paired with dramatization or other interactive engagement strategy.
  5. Plan, Practice, and Revise:  I’m not entirely sure I like how this action plan sounds.  Don’t get me wrong, I love how it sounds.  But I’m not sure it hits the mark or closes the gap.  Essentially, I want to override their reluctance the way I do in writing, by helping them see their successes.  Hmmm.  Maybe this is something I need to think more about, because in writing I capitalize on choice:
    • Read first.  Giving kids choice in what they read, Bbegin with reading (and a snack) to ensure we capitalize on their best energy at the start.

(So, what do I do when they don’t?  Don’t come to the table? Don’t open a book? Don’t read?)

    • Plan for an after-reading “challenge.”  This week it was retell hopscotch.  Next week, who knows?

So much to consider.  My favorite part?  I am just the coach, and I get to walk this road alongside staff and students who make me better everyday.  Today, you’ll get no preaching from me.  Only practice.


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.