Raised a reader

It started as a tug at my heart on the way home, one wishing for more time with my mom.  That was answered by a gentle nudge as I remembered the question at #CCIRA18 about the experience that turned me into a reader. That was echoed in a friend’s “A reader is who I am” blog series.

You see, to my mom, raising a reader is familiar territory.  She read all the time. Danielle Steele. Sydney Sheldon. Jane M. Auel. And she rocked me to bed at night on the gentle waves of her queen-sized waterbed.  We’d help each other hold a Laura Ingalls Wilder book open above us.  We’d trade pages and read left to right and back again.  My sister completed the mom-and-book sandwich; she preferred to listen.

It was on those page-swept shores that I became a reader, too.  I read all the time.  Pokey Little PuppyThere’s a Monster at the End of this BookThe BFG. Even when I was in college, I’d sit on the back porch while she tended her garden and she’d let me read chapters from Harry Potter to her.

We read all the time.

Time to find a book that will span the distance and the minutes so that we can slice this life together more often.  What do you say, mama?  What’s on top of your “to be read” pile?


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. lvahey says:

    Thanks for sharing your early reading memories, and your mom’s reading life and her gift to you. I love the image you painted of you and your sister and mom on the water bed, reading Little House!

    Like

  2. emmred says:

    “It was on those page-swept shores that I became a reader, too.” is such a powerful line! This is a beautiful reflection on your life and growth as a reader. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ramona says:

    I love “page-swept shores” too and being “rocked on the gentle waves of her queen-sized waterbed. Also love that image of you reading Harry Potter to mama while she gardened. I’m wondering what book you and mama will read together.

    Like

  4. vanessaw2007 says:

    I read to my kids on the waterbed we had in the 80’s. I remember falling asleep as I read and my daughter shaking me awake or taking over for me. Thanks for helping me connect with my own memories of reading with my daughters.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Morgan says:

    Update: We’ve chosen Dan Brown’s new “Origins” and will crack the spine before week’s end!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.