Until then

Hello there.

I was wondering when I’d hear from you.

I’m not surprised you found someone who

simply lets you be.

We knew it wasn’t me.

We used to spend every day together, we’d ride home together and fall asleep together. Everywhere I found space to myself, there you were.

And then one day, I just couldn’t have you around anymore. It simply didn’t make sense in my logical mind for us to spend any more time together, not at the movies, not over  love songs, not even in the most quiet of me-moments.  A waste of no matter how much time together.  Nothing ever changed; we simply couldn’t make it right.

So I kept you at arm’s-length until you simply stopped trying.

That was the day that I simply stopped crying.

Hello there, tears.

I wonder when we’ll be together again.

I’m sure it’s not an if, but a when.

And I will be ready, but stay away until then.


This is not the slice that I sat down to write, but “until then” came on out instead.

So I sat down again, and I started again and “’til then” is what I meant to have said.


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Elana Waugh says:

    I felt an instant calming for you with this poetic slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These words speak from deep within your heart. No wonder they “came on out instead.” This is special.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mgminer says:

    Written straight from the heart, I’d say. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vanessaw2007 says:

    I love the clover with tears to go with your slice. So cool when you sit down to write and something totally different comes out. Great line…”not at the movies, not over love songs, not even in the most quiet of me-moments.”

    Like

  5. Suzanne says:

    I believe you have written a song, it’s so sad and so beautiful. Do you write music?

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Not yet… thank you for finding rhythm in the truth.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.