It’s Time

Time to write.

But I’ve got units to read.

Time to write.

But I’ve got emails to reply to.

Time to write.

But Micah is home early.

Time to write.

But Cam will be in bed in just a few short hours.

Time to write.

But I can’t think of anything; my brain’s too full.

Time to write.

But my body aches with tired.

Time to write.

But I should probably take a shower before bed.

Time to write.

And I can always make time.

Not much.

But just enough.


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Your use of repetition resonates what we struggle with. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. The balance ( literally and figuratively) is evident in your structure and the flow is great.

    Like

  3. Stacey Taylor says:

    This un-slice gives me a peek into what your life is like today so I’d say it qualifies as a slice! I enjoyed the repeating line and how your words see-sawed throughout the text.

    Like

  4. Repeating the phrase “time to write” ties the piece together nicely.

    Like

  5. The perfect way to squeeze in a quick poem on what maybe felt like a day with no ideas. Love how you found inspiration in all the moments.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.