Second Chances

Turns out the problem with yesterday’s lesson was exactly what I had feared all along:

Me.

Think I’m being too hard on myself?

One of the students in my reading intervention group had been gone for an entire week, and I couldn’t tell you (at least not in his words) where he had been.

I was too busy trying to complete my agenda.  Oh, and it gets better:

One of the students in my reading intervention group “snuck” a book into our reading intervention and I couldn’t tell you what the book was.

I was too busy trying to get through all that I’d planned.

The other two students in my group both wish they were cats, and I can’t tell you what their feline sounds sound like.

Turns out, this coach just needed a coach. Or five. Or ten.

A friend pointed out that I have to earn their trust “to support them with something that is so challenging.”  A teammate coached me “through my set backs so that I can see my successes.” Another wrote a small note that brought me a big smile.  And still another reminded me that today was another day.

All of these words of wisdom combined with my husband’s advise to “Just talk to them” made me pause and consider: What, exactly, did I know about these four young humans? 

Even my own words coached me from little over a year ago to catch ’em, the moments when kids shine.

And, most importantly, four kiddos who simply needed fewer “Yeah, but…”‘s coached me in second chances.

A chance to see them.  Did you know Jay has a great quarterback’s stance? 

A chance to hear them.  Turns out that Megan tells amazing short stories (with props).

A chance to know them.  The other kids told me that Gaven’s book has a secret code.  I’ll have to ask him about it tomorrow. 

Oh, and a chance to teach them. Bailey catches herself using our strategies and shrieks with joy to show me. 

Can you believe this is my job!?!  I just needed a little (or a lot of) coaching to see it–my second chance.


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. LSquared says:

    Oh my. You are me. I was right with you. I’ve been a reading interventionist for seven – going on eight years now. It (the work load) never gets easiers, but somehow, some days I manage to stay with the students and not succumb to giving a barrage of strategies and feedback. Wow. It really doesn’t take so much time to notice them. But it does take time to hear them. I’ve had days where I feel I should just sit at the table and say, “Let’s talk,.” It is very revealing and it energizes them. Then I feel guilty for not “doing the program.” Hm…

    Like

  2. someoneknows says:

    Your writing is clean and crisp. You pulled me in so easily, I’ve been there, too! My very first principal once said to me, “You can’t get their heads until you have their hearts.” This stuck with me, and seems like it echoes your reflections, thanks to the help of your colleague-coaches and even your husband.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.