Reader, Interrupted

I

The day dawned grey and wet.  The laundry longed to be sorted and washed.

just

The sun peeked through the clouds and the muddy mess in the backyard beckoned.

want

The dirty dishes called out to be detailed.

to

The browning bananas begged to be baked into bread.

finish

Dinner needed to be dished, laundry needed to be hung and folded.

my

A blog sought to be written, others’ waited for feedback.

book.

Dusk settled grey and wet. The only thing left was my book.

I just want to finish my book.


I am participating in the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by Two Writingslice of life challenge Teachers.  This is the 27th day of the 31-day challenge, the first birthday of our tiny pups, and the first day of Spring Break.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth Scanlon says:

    As I have languished over writing my post for the past two hours, I have a book/books to be read! I love how you captured the details with your poem. Heading to read now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joy Berg says:

    I love this! I can totally visualize all your in betweens, and I feel the same way! Trying to figure out what to post while I have my book tucked close, waiting to be opened.

    Like

  3. vanessaw2007 says:

    This is so clever. I had fun deciphering your slice and totally relating to it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.