Friday Night

Oh, Friday night.

I am the work-late-on-Friday-night-to-free-up-your-mind-for-the-rest-of-the-weekend kind of girl.  I have been since high school.  Yeah, sometimes, I’ve been the stop-at-the-bar-for-a-couple-of-drinks kind of friend.  And, yeah, there’ve been times when, at the end of a long week, I’m the you-couldn’t-pay-me-enough-to-look-at-(let alone grade)-one-more-piece-of-work kind of teacher.  And less often than I’d like to admit, I’m the sure-babe-I’m-up-for-another-round-of-darts-and-then-a-good-movie kind of girlfriend.

Nope, these days, I like to end my Friday nights with a desk full of plans, a list full of to-do’s, a computer full of files, a bag full of graded papers, and a mind full of ideas.  Full, but empty of the worry, the want, the wait.

Yes, a Friday night spent working makes for a weekend without work.  Oh, I’m sure I’ll be thinking about it still, but, with the must-do of it done, I’ve made space for the part that makes it all worthwhile.

Yes, it’s the now-that-I’ve-done-what-I-have-to-I’ve-made-room-for-the-get-to-dos kind of night.  Everything in its place.  Bag’s full, brain’s empty.  Making space. slice of life challenge


No way!  100 posts since my first Slice of Life Challenge began three years ago.  This year,
it is the 10th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers! Thank you for stopping by.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jsementelli says:

    This is inspiring! I find myself in my classroom every Sunday afternoon and while its worth it to get in there and ready for the week, part of me wants to give the Friday evening planning a try. Good for you for getting it done- enjoy the weekend 🙂

    Like

  2. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    I wish I could do that! It would feel so good to accomplish so much before the weekend. I am always exhausted on Friday and scrounging to finish up on Sunday night!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I can’t turn my brain off some Friday nights….I’d rather just get it done especially since my husband works late Friday nights anyway. 🙂

    Like

  4. hollymueller says:

    I love the hyphenated awesomeness of this post. 😉 Every now and then I’ll stay late on a Friday to plan, but I have to admit I’m ready to leave it all behind most Fridays. I totally understand the freedom it would create, though! You go!

    Like

  5. djvichos says:

    I like how you walk us through all the different kind of girl, friend, teacher, girlfriend, etc. you’ve been. It adds a lot of voice and a rhythm to the piece.

    Like

  6. pittswitts says:

    Way to go you! Love the dashes.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.