Validation

NARRATOR:  It’s been a hard day for lots of reasons.

HER: (putting up one finger for the first of many reasons; in a whining voice) My friend is getting teased by someone she used to be friends with.

ME: Doesn’t she just hang out with you when that happens?

HER: Yeah, but they’re just being so mean to her. (starting to cry, putting up two fingers to count out the second reason)  And my head still hurts.

ME:  Didn’t we talk this morning about how it was probably just the change in the weather?

HER:  Yeah, but it’s in the same place where I got clocked and there’s still a bump there. (crying harder, putting up a third and fourth fingers)  And my heel still hurts, and I won’t be able to Speed Skip.

ME: Does it hurt when you speed skip?

HER:  Yeah, and it hurts…(sob) while I’m (sob) just sitting here. (sobbing continues; hands clenching into fists)

ME:  Did you do your stretches this morning?

HER:  No, but I (sob) don’t want to do (sob) physical therapy. (sobbing continues)

ME:  I will call the doctor tomorrow and see what they say.

HER: (pulling up the sleeve past the elbow, twisting to examine the underside of her left arm)  And my arm feels like it’s on fire.  It’s been hurting all day.

ME:  You didn’t say anything about that earlier.

HER:  Yeah, but it wasn’t hurting at Grandma’s. (crying uncontrollably now)

NARRATOR:  It’s been a hard day for lots of reasons.  But lots of questions don’t make it better.

ME: (taking a deep breath) It must be really frustrating when it feels like you are falling apart.

HER: (looking up from her lap)  Yes! (sniff)

(a few moments pass in silence; SHE reaches for the cell phone on the center console)

HER:  What do you get when you cross a dog and a magician?

ME: What?

HER: A labra-cadabra-dore. (smiling) Ha!

NARRATOR:  It’s been a hard day for lots of reasons. But you have to admit:  that joke is funny.


 

slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. Tomorrow is the last day.  Thanks ahead of time to all who have shared in this experience with me along the way.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. bbutler627 says:

    Oooooooooooh, I’m envious that you had that joke ready like that! The timing! Perfection. My guy is having the same day. It must be in the air. Poor girlie. I do love this, “NARRATOR: It’s been a hard day for lots of reasons. But lots of questions don’t make it better.” Amen for that spark of patience, Mom. Well done.

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      It was her joke! That’s the best part. As soon as I stopped trying to make it better, as soon as I stopped asking questions, as soon as I just let her know that I heard her, the tears turned off and she started trolling Pinterest, sharing jokes while I drove. Maybe I need to add this into the narration.

      Like

  2. bbutler627 says:

    Omg I got so excited to tell it I didn’t even write my comment properly! That’s awesome.

    Like

  3. writintime says:

    I love it, sometimes we just need to let them speak.

    Like

  4. bjdonaldson says:

    That is a really funny joke. I’ll have to stash it in my “joke book”. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.