Zombie Apocalypse

I had no idea this was a real.  This zombie apocalypse.  Until–that is–last Sunday when the three of us were home together and the temperatures outside had us tucked in and under layers of fleece. Oh, and there was a tent in my living room. A stack of books by my bed. A writer’s notebook with empty pages.  A roomful of toys spilling into the hall.  A few unanswered emails.  A queue of episodes waiting on the DVR.

Cue zombies:  A phone cast shadows across my face.  A tablet held captive my child.  And my husband tangled wirelessly to the game console.  No words were spoken as they tightened their grip.  We were not afraid as they sank their teeth in. We were among them now.

The tent door fluttered in the air from the vent. Vacant. Books unopened, pages blank, toys frozen.  Emails unanswered. Shows unwatched.  All abandoned when the zombies laid siege to our household.


slice of life challengeI am participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. daywells says:

    I know nothing of zombies, but your post is cracking me up! Way to go on day 29.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbutler627 says:

    Now that’s an image of modern day zombies for sure. Oh my god how many times I’ve thought about zombies and technology! This slice is right up my alley.

    Like

Leave a Reply

