You Love a Thing? Write Like

Today’s slice is inspired by Jacqueline Woodson’s poem “You Love a Thing?” in Before the Ever After.

Do You Love a Thing?

When I was little,

I didn’t mind writing

so much as I was good at it.

I won essay contests and

got A’s on papers and

was even accused with

“Is this all yours?”

when I used words like “forged”

to describe how friendships form.

Apparently “forged” is

too sophisticated for

a junior in high school.

Now, it’s something I love.

The time ticks by and

I don’t care.

Through every skipped

and burnt meal,

and lost sleep,

and underwater conversation,

I still love it.

I love the way

the words and ideas

come to me

when I’ve been writing.

Not always while I’m writing, but

always in the space between.

Love the call for

slices every March.

Love the community,

friends I’ve never met.

Love the commitment;

nothing like a good streak.

I love the way I see life differently,

use time differently,

live mine differently,

publicly casting votes

for the person I am becoming:

Someone who

loves this thing,

this

writing

thing.


3 Comments Add yours

  1. norapiento says:

    I envy you. Words don’t come to me as easily as they do for you. I was never a good writer. Participating in SOL has allowed me to see good writing like yours and has inspired me to try new things in my writing. I am glad I did this (first time slicer/science teacher). I have enjoyed reading other people’s stories. Thank you for sharing yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you! I hope you find that writing generates thoughts and visions for more writing. And anything will resonate with someone. Welcome to the challenge!

      Like

  2. hsatlas says:

    I love your poem about loving writing! I love how you talk about this community and how writing makes you see life differently and live life differently. Write on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.