A Snow Day Finish

As part of our Snow Day Compromise, I took the opportunity to introduce my sixth graders to the Slice of Life Challenge. When the edublog-o-sphere didn’t work quite like I thought it would, I opened up a Google Slides presentation and assigned each on of them their own.

I showed them a few of the slices on my blog. Not even for a moment did it occur to me that they wouldn’t know who Mr. Tumnus was. But they got the Jam-Packed one for oh-so-many reasons. That was the gist of my instruction. Oh and, “And if you’re not sure what to write about, go out and do something worth writing about. That is your Snow Day assignment.”

Here is what I put down on my slide:

They’ve just called a snow day for tomorrow despite the melting snow under 40-degree temperatures. So…

I will be torn again tomorrow. Perhaps, though, the compromise for tomorrow’s snow day might include another slice and maybe a chapter from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. alilocker says:

    These students are so lucky to write alongside you and I know you feel the same about them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you use slices with your class and encourage them to write with you. About the snow day! How cool is that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the idea of a “snow-day compromise”. Love, too, how you told them to do something worth writing about. Thanks for sharing a glimpse into your classroom!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.