Less Tonight

There is less on my floor this evening. Fewer boxes. Fewer piles. Fewer furniture. (Is furniture plural? Like fish?)

There is less on my desk this evening. Fewer papers. Fewer piles. Fewer files. (Does anyone else succumb to the stacks of stuff, yet know exactly where everything is?)

There is less uncertainty in my home tonight. Fewer un-homed electronic cords. Fewer piles of pictures, scattered. Fewer things I was never quite sure I’d use. (If I haven’t used them, chances are…right? )

There is less stuff in my house tonight. Fewer clothes and shoes. Fewer piles that keep getting moved from one room to another. Fewer things that no longer spark joy. (Anyone wanna guess what I’ve been streaming on Netflix?)

There is less clutter in my world tonight. Fewer distractions stand between me and the page. Fewer piles of preoccupation. Fewer words in the way. (Isn’t that the idea behind making space in the first place?)

Can’t wait to see all that the making makes space for.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin Vogler says:

    I love these lines: There is less clutter in my world tonight. Fewer distractions stand between me and the page. Fewer piles of preoccupation. Fewer words in the way. (Isn’t that the idea behind making space in the first place?)…especially “fewer piles of preoccupation” – I just cleared some of those piles from my classroom last week and it is absolutely liberating! I’ve been putting off allowing myself to watch this show on Netflix because I’m quite sure it will open a Pandora’s box for which I am not yet prepared. Maybe over Spring Break…or this summer…or later, definitely later.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mgminer says:

    I applaud you! I can relate to the piles moved from one room to another. Unfortunately, my husband still thinks like his Depression-era parents who kept everything forever, making it hard for me to declutter. Someday…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post! I can totally relate to the piles of stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s liberating when you clear out the clutter! I hope you are enjoying your new, organized space!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Angelina says:

    I can relate to having piles and wanting to eliminate as much clutter as possible. It does really stifle creativity. Good for you that you’ve been able to knock some of it back.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. agriffinwa says:

    Love that you used smart repetition to hook us readers. Love that you are indeed making space for more joy in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a lovely and lively like rhythm. Like a rhythm to your life right now. A little less to await what’s next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.