No More

Rachel Hollis writes,

“You were made to be more

than you are today, and –

this is the important part –

your version of more might not look like my more”

: Finally signing up for the 10K.

Making strides to change the way you eat.

Going back to school.

The list goes on and on.

Each time starting with the same word:

More.

And on and on.

Not all adding on,

but each time on and on,

More.

Minute after minute.

Mile after mile.

Listening in the car ride at the end of this day,

my shoulders rise more,

my pulse hastens more,

the noose tightens more.

All from a book that

promises to

take me and

make me more.

When all I want is a little less.


Today is the sixth day of the 12th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC19) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  I appreciate any comments, especially those that

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. amyjuengst says:

    The rhythm of your poem matched the tension of the “more.” Loved the last line “when all I want is a little less.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. More. It can be a blessing and a curse. I think you gave it justice in this slice. Thank you sharing with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.