Hopeful

I use the toes of my left foot to slide the shoe off my right; then switch, all the while leaving the laces tied, tossed at the bottom of our closet.

I trade my belted jeans and ankle-low socks for what we’ve called “chair pants” every since the nights when you couldn’t sleep in our bed for the pain in your back.

That’s as far as I get.  The dishes aren’t done.  The laundry sits–at least–in unsorted baskets.  Unopened mail covers the kitchen table. The vacuum stands in the middle of the floor.

And me, I am blogging from our bed,  hopeful that my eyes are still open when the stars guide you home. Hopeful that tonight I’ll catch you up on a week’s worth of posts.  Hopeful that you’ll have good news about tonight’s meeting. Hopeful that I will fall asleep–finally–in the soft spot on your shoulder.


I am participating in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Loved it. Lots of imagery. The last paragraph can almost be read as a poem. Well done!

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    This is a sweet post. Hope you stayed awake!!

    Like

  3. Ash Hickey says:

    You make it seem so easy! I love the flow of this and the reality that is the end of the week… We left the toys everywhere and the sink full of dishes, saying it can wait until morning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.