Scrapbooking

Today was an interesting day for me as a “slice of life-er” because for the first time in a long time, I didn’t come the page with even a shred of an idea.  I came, instead, tired and full after a day of errands and chores and bill paying. So I entered into a space that I usually save for after my post:  I read others’ ideas.  Actually, only one:  a bit of an alliterate.

I started connecting to the post in the comments:

I was thinking this today, too,

how this blog is a perfect scrapbook of my world in this month of March every year.  How last night’s post about my husband helped me to get back on track with capturing the kinds of things that will still matter in fifty years. 

as I rode with my daughter in the car. Wondering if the blog-o-sphere will even be where she returns when she is my age or if I should somehow otherwise preserve these memories.  

Should I be printing these blogs out and making a book?  Am I capturing the kinds of things about my daughter now that she will look back on with a smile or am I sending her straight to a shrink?  I still haven’t written about all the things she’s doing.  Her favorite new hobby: creating memes on my phone, taking pictures and making up her own “slams” to surround them and then trying to share them with me in the car while I’m driving beside her.  Have I even written about how she rides beside me yet?  And if I don’t write about it, will I even remember?  Heck, sometimes the things I DO write about, I don’t even remember. 

Even my mom mentioned something from a previous post, and I responded, “When did I write THAT?”  

It was a wish to connect with my grandmother; she has a story to tell.  A story that I would love to shape through her eyes as a way of connecting to the rich history she embodies, of finding the parts of her in me, and of untangling her past from our future.  

There are so many stories that, once we are no longer here to tell them, simply cease to exist.  

This

this slice of life challenge

is a beautiful way to capture those moments that will otherwise get lost in the volume of moments.


 

slice of life challengeThank you, bbutler627, for helping me find my slice today. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I haven’t thought of it that way–but how true! I love how you expressed this as a way to save precious moments that might otherwise be forgotten. Now I may try to do this myself.

    Like

  2. litcoach64 says:

    How true! What a wonderful metaphor for the blogging we do today.

    Like

  3. mgminer says:

    We only have one “home video” from the 1980s when camcorders first came out. I regret that we never got a camera of our own to record more family time. Now the kids are grown and it would be so fun to go back and watch. Same with stories – I wish my parents had written more now that they are gone.

    Like

  4. bbutler627 says:

    I’m so flattered! You took my post and brought it to another level and it’s soooo good! Like this kills me, “There are so many stories that, once we are no longer here to tell them, simply cease to exist.” That gives me chills. What a line; what a concept! So very true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.