Come Home

on

I miss you.

We live

in the

same house.

Fall asleep

tangled

in the

same bed.

Wake

to the

same bird songs.

And right now

our worlds are

so full

that even when

your eyes meet mine

Sometimes

I’m not sure

I really

see you.

Really see you.

I can’t wait to see you.

Come home.


 

slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. For tonight’s slice, I wanted to make space for the one who often gets the last of me, the rest of me, the less-than-best of me.  Even as I hit publish, I hear his truck rumble into the driveway.  He’s home!

I would love your feedback about the choice of line breaks.  I wanted certain words to stand out and so also left insignificant words to their lines.  Thank you in advance for helping me grow as a writer.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. You word choice and line breaks feel just right to me. I can relate because you have conveyed so much feeling in so few words. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbutler627 says:

    Awwwwww, this is amazing!!! It’s so honest and real. Very relatable. These are the things that make men melt, I think. You put him here first and your favorite even though other thing get in the way. I love this!

    Like

  3. MaryHill says:

    This poem speaks to the loneliness we feel in our rushed lives. Our loved ones are right there, but do we really connect with them. Great breaks because it really drives the message home.

    Like

  4. writintime says:

    I love how the line “tangled” popped out at me and I could feel your tangled emotions. Then “same bird songs” popped and that really brought out the simplicity of what you are asking for which makes the “tangledness” of what your poem is expressing more poignant. Beautiful.

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you for confirming that those lines really did need to stand on their own!

      Like

Leave a Reply

