Nothing.

Nothing.

For some, this response to the “What do you want to write about?” question might bring about signs of sympathy.  I’ve seen it time and time again:  a tilted head, a furrowed brow, a slump of the shoulders.  An assumption that this unfortunate soul sitting in front of me hasn’t had many experiences to write about.

Ha!  Not in this class. I see it as an opportunity, a crack in the door.  I wedge my foot in the doorway, knowing exactly what’s coming when I ask, “Well, what do you do after school?”

Nothing.

I push the door open a crack.  “Oh, that’s so interesting.  No one is writing the story about nothing.  I can’t wait for you to share it with us.”

Sure it took an entire period of writing, well, nothing, before this child sat with pencil to paper at lunch, before I saw the door swing wide.

This six-year-old, who not only found his story but his smile while we sat together, wrote:

I didn’t do anything after school yesterday.  I did not watch T.V.  I did not play.  I did go outside.  I feel happy when I am doing nothing.

Not only is the doorway open, but I see more on the horizon.  Because, at the end of the day, this story was

anything

but

nothing.


slice of life challengeI am participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.   We are on day 10 of the 31 day challenge.  For those of you who are part of the challenge thank you for choosing this “making space” to build our writing community.  For those who are stopping by for the story, thank you for making this space a part of your day.  We grow in our humanity when we share our stories.  I’d love to hear yours.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. newtreemom says:

    I always rush to read when a slicer uses the word “nothing” in describing their post, because almost always it is really something. You did not disappoint!

    Like

  2. danahuff says:

    I like it! It would be a great poem. Sometimes all I want to do is nothing. I can relate.

    Like

  3. Holly says:

    I like to look at posts that mention nothing, or stuck, or ordinary. It pulls me in all the time…I hear it every now and then and love when I do. I love the challenge of helping little ones who think they have ‘nothing’ to write about find their voice.

    Like

  4. I like this concept of nothing. I think I will turn it into a writing prompt for my secondary ed students. I love it!

    Like

  5. vanessaw2007 says:

    I love that you accepted his thoughts about nothing. Wonderful slice.

    Like

  6. I’m going to try your approach the next time I get that answer from a student. Thanks for the great idea and inspiring story. I love the way you spaced out the last three words at the end. It leaves a strong punch with the reader.

    Like

  7. bbutler627 says:

    Oooooooh I love that! That is anything but nothing as is this post. The small suspenseful craft you used here just jumps off the page to force a smile! I couldn’t help but feel so inspired by NOTHING just happy! Awesome slice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you for the feedback about the writing. It really helps me to know what I’m doing “write”!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.