Miles to Go – #sol15

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,

It was light out tonight as we made our way home.  Shadows danced around the narrow curves and between the canyon walls.  The sun was still shining when we pulled onto our dirt road.  I slid the key into its place without the help of the porch light.  I made dinner in the golden glow of the approaching dusk.

But now, now it is dark.  I know the mountains are out there, but they are quiet.  And the dark, the dark is deep.  After a day spent with a furrowed brow against a pounding ache, I welcome the dark. The deep, deep dark.  It makes me want to close my eyes.

But I have promises to keep,

To answer the unanswered question.  To help with homework.  To make dinner.  To start the shower.  To provide feedback on the assignment.  Feedback on the staff development.

Promises.  To myself, mostly.  To be the kind of mom she deserves. To be the kind of teacher and colleague they can count on.  To be the kind of writer I aspire to be. To fulfill this daily challenge.  To dedicate this daily time.

And miles to go before I sleep,

Checking things off the list that separates me from the dark behind my eyes.  Close to failure, but I find enough.  Enough to do and to be.

And miles to go before I sleep.

More than enough.  I find joy in the doing.  Joy in the being.

*Thanks to “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost for today’s thread.


slice of life challengeI am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers.  Come join us!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. So beautifully written!! I could feel the crisp air all around me. It’s been my favorite post today!! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Wow! What a compliment! There are some great slices out there. I’m headed to yours. 🙂

      Like

  2. Samantha Marquardt says:

    This is one of my favorite poems and I absolutely LOVE what you did with it! This is so well-written and easy to relate to as a mom and teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lori Carter says:

    I love Stopping By the Woods. It’s one of my favorite Robert Frost poems. I love how you took the lines and elaborated on them with your own connections. It’s a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    This is a beautiful piece of writing. I love the juxtaposition of the poem and your words. It flows so beautifully!

    Like

  5. hela124 says:

    Interspersing the poem between sections of your story gave this piece a beautifully haunting rhythm. I loved, loved, loved it!

    Like

  6. Beautiful slice! You captivated me with the entering your home and making dinner…so magical feeling, and yet, quite possibly, a very typical day for you! Lovely.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.