Mockingjay

I pull back with my right arm, eyes set on the target.

I feel my body cease to sway as I take in one breath.

Not deep enough, I let it out, feel the ground come up to meet the arches of my feet.

I inhale once more, deep into my belly.

This is the one.  I let it out.

I let go. 


Clang-cl-clang! Ringer!

“How’d you do that?” Micah asks, walking with me to the other end of the yard.

“Easy,” I reply.  “I through horseshoes the way Katniss shoots arrows.”


slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Love that last line—it just exudes such confidence! 🙂 On a related note, my 8-year-old got a bow-and-arrow set for Christmas (not real arrows, but suction cups) and I was actually surprised by how hard it was! Katniss make it look so easy! 🙂

    Like

  2. J.Tiggs says:

    I love it! As a mom/teacher, sometimes you have to feign confidence 🙂 Fake it, ’til you make it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.