A Walk in the Park

I left my computer at home today.  But I was sure to bring along my notebooks.

My professional one, in case I decided to dig into my latest work on whole-group reading instruction.

My fictional one, so that I could capture the thoughts that came to me as I was straightening my hair this morning.  Thoughts about why the main character and her mother would be traveling against the rotation of the world that took both father and soul mate, respectively.

I’ve tried to keep them clean, to keep the entries about the alternate world separate from the ones about the real and true, but today, I packed them both.  Yes, I packed them both when I left home, but I left one in the car as we set out into the park.

I’m not sure where today’s slice would have landed anyway.  It is not at all about things I would share professionally, and not at all fitting with the fictional world I am creating.

Today’s slice gets caught between pages.  And when this happens, any pages will do.  I turn the page and create a word map of the landscape that lays itself at my feet.  I do not resist, though I do worry that it will otherwise get lost.  So here, slice, set yourself here.  This is the space that makes space for it all:

20180331_211522-e1522552846704.jpg

 


Today is the last day in the 11th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge (#SOLSC18) hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  We write each day in March as part of an international writing community.  I appreciate any comments, especially those thatslice of life challenge

  • reinforce writing decisions that work and
  • coach into those that don’t.

Think of each comment you leave as a little writing conference we are having together. Come on, make me a better writer today! Thank you!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. carwilc says:

    Somehow missed commenting on your last slice! And now I’m onto poem-ing, which is way, way, way more complicated. People’s processes for writing (or doing anything actually- one of my most recent big concerns is when and where and what the HAMILTON actors live and eat??!! No idea why I am wasting mind space thinking about this). It’s fun, then, to take a peek into your writers’ notebook and your creative process. I’m not very good at keeping a notebook- I’d love to be able to see what is written here. And I think you and Tamara Jaimes and me, and anyone other Colorado Slicers who wants to come need to have a meetup this summer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.