Dog People

Let me start by saying that I am not a dog person.  I don’t think of them as members of my family (much).  I don’t call them my children (much).  I don’t think of them while I’m at work (much).

So imagine my surprise when today I found myself chasing a fox to get back a ball that has–surprisingly enough–lasted through three seasons with two new puppies.

How in the world did this happen, you ask?

Well, when the dogs went crazy in a not-so-deer-in-the-yard kind of way, we looked outside only to see the black body and white tail of our neighborhood fox zig-zag out of the weeds in our yard.  “Mom, it’s Scampers!”  my daughter’s voice rang out.

His zebra-striped retreat was dotted only by the flash of orange that brought Cam and I out onto the porch.  She held a dog dish, ready to ring it in hopes of scaring the fox into relinquishing the ball.  I sported my winter boots–yes, the ones with a hole in them–ready to chase down said fox and said ball which had both come to rest in the neighbor’s yard.

A barbed-wire fence, a grazing field, and a twisted ankle later and I returned home, ball in hand, a hero indeed.

How in the world did this happen, you ask?

Well, my son’s favorite play toy is his collection of orange Chuck-it balls, and these babies aren’t cheap.  I knew he would need this one to play catch with tomorrow, and his sister would need it so that, for just a moment or two, her brother would be preoccupied enough to let her chase her own toys around the yard.  They couldn’t let the neighborhood bully get away with stealing from them, and having only turned one yesterday, they needed the help of Mama and Big Sissy.

Did I mention I am not a dog person?

(much)


I am participating in the 10th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. slice of life challenge Today’s slice was unexpected, but came easy as so many slices do, especially at the end of the challenge when our bodies are in tune to all the material around us, waiting to be written.

2 thoughts on “Dog People

  1. Hahahahaha! Oh the sarcasm is priceless here. Not an easy thing to make light and funny, but you did it expertly. The (much) nudges were like seeing a smirk when someone tells a challenging story as this one is. You’re a better woman than me. Also not a dog person, but very much a “how the hell did I get myself into this situation, oh yeah, I have kids” person. Excellent slice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

