The Heart of Life

I know it’s good.

My daughter pulls up the John Mayer playlist that transports me to a time and place nearly a decade ago.  I hope my memories are accurate:

She sat on the bench, the one by the gym doors. We had sat side-by-side on benches just like this many times before, at the end-of-year party at the park and at the annual Day in Denver, Starbucks in hand.  It would be a while before I would see her again. It had been a long stretch to get here, and she had a long drive ahead.

She handed me a gift, the John Mayer CD.  I could tell by the way it was wrapped that it came, not straight from the store, but out of her private collection, the rest of which was packed in the back of the Blazer.

I don’t remember if it was a note that called out the song or something she said that day, and I didn’t know at the time how strongly the song would connect us to each other, to this day, to the meaning in all of our “benched” conversations, and the friendship we both hoped would endure the distance.

“I know the Heart of Life is good.”

I didn’t RSVP to her wedding, not because I forgot or didn’t want to go; I didn’t know how to span the stretch.  I wish now I had gone, that I had seen her, standing proudly in her high heels, marry the love of her life.

I didn’t send her a card or a gift when her son was born.  Not because I wasn’t excited and scared for her, all at the same time, but because I didn’t know to manage the miles.  I didn’t know what would mean most.  I wish now I had sent something, that I had told her what an amazing mom I think she is.

I simply didn’t know how.

And now she’s moved into a new house.  Her son just had a birthday, and like ours, her family is complete.

And today I think I know how.  These words cross the windswept plains and reach out in a way that wedding toasts, shower gifts, and housewarming plants never could.  At least I hope they do.

It is, after all, the little things that matter most;  the song playing on my daughter’s new-found playlist is proof of that.  Today I wrote from the Heart of Life.

I know it’s good.


slice of life challengeI am participating in the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  Today’s slice has lived in my heart for a long time, not knowing how to emerge.  Today, a song gave it a life of its own and allowed my fingers to fly, trying fast to keep up. I love posts that are born this way.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. mgminer says:

    Powerful writing here. Thank you for writing from your heart. It is good. Coincidentally, I heard from a college roommate today – it’s been a long, long time between contacts. The threads of friendship can be stronger than we know.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbutler627 says:

    This is a beautiful slice. Maybe you could send this to her? It might explain things, or not. Your relationship is definitely unique and private. There’s love in your words here. I hope you reconnect with her in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MAK says:

    Wow, that was powerful and beautiful. You really wrapped your words around your feelings, ones I can relate to. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

