Unearthed

A new string of planets was discovered orbiting the “habitable zone” of a distant star…

A few years ago, I began a story about a girl who lives after an astronomical catastrophe has knocked Earth off its axis and affected the rate of its rotation.  I wrote about this girl for the good part of a year and then stopped.

I’m not sure why exactly.  Actually, that’s not true:

It became to hard to get the details right.  And I am, if nothing else, a detail person.  In this Earth of my creation, I couldn’t suspend my own disbelief long enough to bring my character’s story to light.

And her story? I’m not exactly sure where the idea came from. Actually, that’s not true:

It came from the pages of a National Geographic for Kids, an article about a molten planet, I was reading over my daughter’s shoulder.  And I started jotting on May 3, 2013.

I know this because I have it in my notebook.  Sure, it took me a while to find the right notebook, but interestingly enough, the page with the cut-out of the article is still flagged with a small pink post-it.

As I read back through my jottings, my initial thoughts, I see that the story of this girl never began on Earth.  It began,

“So what if there were a planet that was like ours, but…”

And just like that, we circle back to the beginning:

A new string of planets was discovered orbiting the “habitable zone” of a distant star…

I’m not exactly sure where this will lead me.  Actually, that’s not true.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rand Raynor says:

    Actually…. that sounds like a great story! The power of the notebook!

    Like

  2. Sounds interesting -could make a good sci-fi book maybe

    Like

  3. Patricia says:

    It sounds as tho you have this story writing itself in your mind. Actually that may not be true. Love this post.

    Like

  4. pittswitts says:

    Go for it! If nothing else you have a story you can always return to and explore, expand and examine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

