Work in Progress

Yesterday marked the end of the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge.  I did it:  I wrote every day for 31 days straight.  I made space for it.  I started seeing my stories in the simplest of places.  So why wouldn’t I do the same for the writing that’s been waiting?   

Here goes:  a challenge all my own, to make space for my work in progress.  I’m calling in the #WIP16 challenge.  It may last for a day, thirty days, three months, who knows, but if I can make time for writing about crying in the car, then I can surely give my main character a bit of my time every day.  

Everyone, I’d like you to meet Jax:

What I know for sure

This is what I know for sure.

The world ended

On the day

I was kidnapped.

Or was it

The other way around?

Only my father knows.

I was given another

boy’s key to the Underground

The place that would be our

luxury home until a cure could be found

And if anyone could find the cure,

surely the man who created the virus would find it.

And he’s here.

So is she.

(I’d write more about her, but this is about things I am sure of, and she is not one of them.)

He isn’t either for that matter, but I do know that he will find a cure.

Unless the one on the outside, the top side

Takes back what is rightfully his:

My space

My sanctuary.

I’m not sure I even want it anymore.

Not sure I ever did.

I am sure I’d rather take my chances

on the outside,

the topside,

than face the truth in here.  


Making Space LogoThis post marks the first of the 2016 Work in Progress Challenge.  I have no idea how this will turn out.  I’d love to hear your comments and take your critiques.  Thank you for joining me in #WIP2016.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anne Folsom says:

    Super cool! I would not have pegged you in the fantasy / futuristic / Underground type world! You are one of mysteries Mrs. Davis! I’m excited to learn more about Jax!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Oh, give me a dystopian YA novel any day! And why not!?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

