At Last

on

It’s time to write my slice…

Write after I

eat dinner

watch The Voice on DVR

shop for dresses

join a Twitter chat (#ReadingScience)

shop for sandals

unload the dishwasher

try to register for a spring kickball league

convince Cam to take a shower

read last night’s comments

answer to the cry for “Mommmmm…”

diagnose the newest ailment

answer to the cry for “Mom!”

read the ingredients on the shampoo bottle

text the hubby who’s on his way home

and…

At last, it’s time to write my slice.


 

I once read that Katie Wood Ray’s house is never cleaner than when she has a writing deadline looming.  Sometimes the things that we do don’t keep us from writing; sometimes they give us time to process (and procrastinate) until we are ready to come to the page.  Tonight, I wasn’t ready–at first–but I’m glad I saw it for what it was and came to the page–at last.


 

slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. I wonder how many of our students–who are returning tomorrow from spring break–will need time to process (and procrastinate) until they are ready to come to the page.

One Comment Add yours

  1. bbutler627 says:

    I loooooove Katie Wood Ray’s views on writing. She’s the best. I can say from experience that my house is the cleanest its every been every November when I’m fully into NaNoWriMo procrastination mode. That is until the last week, when we live in filth… I also write after dinner, if my kids go to bed without killing my husband. Thank god for spring break in March is all I have to say… I too look forward to your comments at night, usually before signing off. Now quickly, what’s interesting about your post as a list to me, is that it is a snippet of a night of your life during this crazy month. I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

