I Know a Place

I know a place

where silence echoes

off the bay.

Where the water

is still as glass.

Where ducks make a music

I have never heard,

strumming the surface

as they plunge under

and come bobbing up.

Where the sun

arm-wrestles the wind

and wins.

Where a morning moment

is followed by many more.

Where my soul is restored

with my feet in the sand.

Where the red clay

swallows your weary travels,

and rocks skip,

and time stands still.

Where I fall in love with family.

Where I fall in love with you.

Where I fall in love.

Where I…

 

I know a place.


 

I am participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  slice of life challenge

2 Comments Add yours

  1. marymary219 says:

    Beautiful repetition! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I’d love to be there! Beautiful poem, love this: “Where the sun

    arm-wrestles the wind

    and wins.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

