Timeless

on

“How do you scroll through channels?” She asks, making me think of things like that, things that she may never know:

  • How to dial a rotary phone.
  • How to load a record player, dropping the needle with the precision of throwing darts at a moving target.
  • Winding a cassette tape that has come undone.
  • Listening to Sunday’s radio countdown so that you can record your favorite song and replay it over and over.
  • The frustration of sitting through the entire radio countdown only to miss recording the first few seconds of your favorite song.
  • How to break the tab on a VHS tape to keep someone from recording over your favorite movie, preserved without swear words and full of commercials you cannot skip.

There are so many things that separate my childhood from hers. But right now, she is propped up watching Saturday morning cartoons.

Some experiences need no explanation, they transcend time, connect the generations, and speak a language that is universal.

Yes, Saturday morning cartoons are one of those things.  Even if you have to get there by scrolling through the channels.


I am participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  I’d love to hear in the comments other things that I can share with my nine year old, things that make our childhoods seem like a different era.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. writintime says:

    Excellent way of looking at a bridge between an ever widening gap!!! And I just love it when I mention some “olden days” things, like the way the digits on digital clocks used to kind of flip around to recreate the number and you would hear the little click clicks, and one of my kids will say, “Oh yeah!” because they have seen one. Thanks for a great perspective post!

    Like

  2. vanessaw2007 says:

    Our children’s lives are such a different experience than what we had growing up. So comforting to know that some things don’t change. Really enjoyed this.

    Like

  3. Such a difference indeed. My daughter asked me today if Facebook existed when I was a kid. My response, “The internet basically didn’t exist when I was a kid.” Oh, the horror! Her face was priceless.

    Like

  4. bevbaird says:

    How different this generation of kids is from ours – so many things are now obsolete. Lovely slice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

