THE dream!

I had it.  THE dream.  Every teacher knows the one: the FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL dream.

Like a scene out of Oz, YOU were there: The Coach.  This was your classroom before mine, and though you’ve rearranged a few of your things to make room for me, I look to you, scared,  unsure of where my comforts are.  There is no space on the walls for anchor charts, no books on the shelves that I recognize. I take a deep breath and prepare for a day where I’m just going to have to work a little harder.

YOU were there: Master Teacher.  You come in as the students pour from the courtyard into our soft start.  You pull out a beaker and begin to mix a white powder with water into a bubbling concoction that grabs and holds their attention.  It will be the highlight of their day, I just know it. I look to you, distressed to think that this climax came before the bell even rang.  I take a deep breath and prepare for a day where I’m just going to have to work a little harder. I look around the room.  I step into the hallway.

YOU were NOT there: My Teammate. This is the most frightening of all.  It’s how I know, when I wake with a start,  that I am back in Kansas.  That this place in my dream, where I am not ready and you are not there, has been only a dream.

THE dream.  It’s only March, but it is THE dream that I needed to remind me as I click my heels together three times on the way to work today:  There’s no place like home.


slice of life challengeI’m participating in the 9th annual Slice of Life Challenge (#sol16) over at the Two Writing Teachers.  I know many of my colleagues will relate with the dream I had, and I am wondering tonight your thoughts on the Wizard of Oz analogy.  How does it fit with telling my slice?  What would you add or change?  Do you see a connection that I didn’t? Thank you in advance for your feedback.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Deanna H says:

    Oh yeah, I know that dream. Great Slice!

    Like

  2. vanessaw2007 says:

    Um… that nightmare? This speaks to me about appreciating where you are and the support that you have. I also see it as looking for constructive support vs. judgement and must do’s.

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you for that insight. I hadn’t gotten to the interpretation of that part, yet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

