An Open Letter to Spring Cleaning – #sol15

Dear Spring Cleaning,

It’s finally Spring Break.  And I know that you know that because you’ve been hanging around more and more.  With every “I’ll get to that next week,” and “I’ll tackle that over Spring Break,” you’ve made it known that you are just waiting for me.  Pining for me.

But here’s the thing:  I’m just not that into you.  I used to enjoy my weekends with you, back when cleaning my own space meant cleaning one room.  I’d turn up the music and we’d talk for hours.  I’m older now, and my time is more precious.  Trust me, it’s not you; it’s me.  I don’t like the person I am when I’m with you.  I don’t like that I can’t give myself to you completely.  It’s really not fair to you.  Not fair to us.  I just don’t think we have a future together.

So please, try to move on.  There are plenty of people out there who will appreciate all that you have to offer a girl and will take you in with arms–and yellow-gloved hands–open wide.  I just don’t think I’m right for you.

Please try to understand.

Sincerely,

Vacation Me


slice of life challengeI’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers.  Thanks to the entire team for supporting such an incredible journey.  Special thanks today to peteacher1 (Crotty Kid and Emily’s Mom) and her slice “Rest in Peace” for the idea of writing a letter like this.

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. cmargocs says:

    Yes, resoundingly, yes! Facing this same problem as I near the end of my spring break, though I did get some mundane tasks such as cleaning toilets done. Ugh.

    Like

  2. rosecappelli says:

    Love the format of this post! This would make a great mentor text for students. And I agree- there are so many other fun things to do during spring break!

    Like

  3. darlasalay says:

    HA! Loved this. My sentiments exactly. I don’t like the person I am when I’m with my mop and broom either.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Darla

    Like

  4. bennisbuzz says:

    Lovely break-up! You did it with such dignity. D 🙂

    Like

  5. travelinma says:

    I love the line and can relate, “I don’t like the person I am when I am with you.” This post is a delight.

    Like

  6. elsie says:

    Times and situations change, so buh-bye spring cleaning, hello vacation without guilt! Enjoy!

    Like

  7. As clever as it is wise.
    Laughed along the way.

    Like

  8. Jaana says:

    Perfect!! Do not let peer pressure make you change your mind!

    Like

  9. peteacher1 says:

    Awesome letter! Thanks for the credit! 🙂 I love when you reference that you used to enjoy your weekends together but now you are older and your time is more precious!. I can definitely relate to that. I actually like to clean but have no time! I like how you acknowledged the positive attributes and encouraged it to move on to someone more appreciative. Great slice!!!

    Like

  10. peteacher1 says:

    Amazing slice! Thanks for pinging me! 🙂 I love when you mentioned that you used to enjoy the weekends with it but now you have grown up and other things are more important. I actually love cleaning but just don’t have time anymore. Your ending was great. It was so positive – especially like when you encouraged it to move on to someone more appreciative. Personification was wonderful! Great, playful slice!

    Like

  11. Donna Smith says:

    I’d like to hear Spring Cleaning’s reply!

    Like

  12. Fabulous way to express this. It had me laughing while ignoring the pleas to reconsider in my own home!

    Like

  13. Amanda Regan says:

    Love this! I have been putting things off for weeks, saying I’d do it over Spring Break. Now Spring Break is here and I just don’t wanna! Thanks for the laugh and letting me know I’m not the only one who feels that way!

    Like

  14. This is such a persuasive and fun letter. I really really wish my husband would agree. xo nanc

    Like

  15. Great, fun piece! I love the detail ‘yellow gloves open wide’.
    Adore the break-up language. “I don’t like that I can’t give myself to you completely”-ha!

    Like

  16. Love open letters, and this one was great! (And also, I feel the same way!) McSweeneys has some great (though not entirely school appropriate) open letters on their site, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

