Sixty Degrees of Separation – #sol15

Sixty degrees. Six months ago, it had me snuggled up on the couch in my pajamas already. Had me wearing long sleeves to bed and sliding into my wooly slippers. Today, it has me changing into a tank top as soon as I clock out and trying on my new capris once I get home. Sixty degrees. Six months ago, it had my seat heater cranked up to high and my car windows tightly sealed against the season. Today, it opens my sun roof and invites my fingers out to dance on the air. Sixty degrees. Six months ago, it had me closing up windows and changing furnace filters. Today, it has me pulling out deck chair cushions and leaning back with my fingers in the dry grass. Sixty degrees. Six months ago, it had me excited for the coming cold. Today, it has me looking forward to the summer sun. Sixty degrees.


slice of life challengeI’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers.  Thanks to them and their entire team for hosting this amazing opportunity.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh–how true is this poem! Sixty degrees can feel very different depending on which side of winter it’s on… Great repetition and images!

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    I love snow and winter, but I can’t wait for a tiny hint that we might even nudge towards 60 degrees and all those delicious things you reference-tank tops, lawn chairs, open windows! At this point, I’d even take 45 degrees!

    Like

  3. rachel reads says:

    I am just like this too! Sixty degrees has felt like such a heat wave! Enjoy it!

    Like

  4. anita says:

    You are so right…today it is 20 and the snow was so bad I could not get take out. But tomorrow it will be 50 and I will get out and wear just a sweater!

    Like

Leave a Reply

