An Awakening – #sol15

on

It’s Monday morning. I’m not sure that I can write this early.  Just like I know I can’t workout this early.  My lungs seize,  my muscles freeze and it takes every ounce of willpower to get out of bed for it.

Yet I have done it – worked out this early. I’ve rolled out of bed,  put two feet on the floor, thrown on some other clothes  (or gone to bed the night before in them), and laced up my sneakers.  I’ve donned headphones that sang out with energy and enthusiasm long before I had my first cup of coffee. And,  you know,  on those days,  I’ve felt great.  Not great enough to make this a daily ritual,  but great enough for one day,  maybe even two or three.

So this morning,  ahead of a day full of meetings,  modeled lessons,  more meetings,  and late-night  interviews to fill eight positions,  I take to the page like I’ve taken to exercise before the sun kisses the morning sky.  Reluctantly.  But I’m already feeling better.  I can already feel an awakening that may not be enough to start a new routine,  but feels good enough for today.


Islice of life challenge am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. cvarsalona says:

    What a great start to your morning. I am lazily resting in bed while creating my slice. Your awakening has set my heart in motion. Thank you for the kickstart.

    Like

  2. debbussewitz says:

    I love this line…”I take to the page like I’ve taken to exercise before the sun kisses the morning sky. Reluctantly.” Enjoyable post and great title.
    ~Deborah

    Like

Leave a Reply

