My First 5K – #sol15

Tomorrow at this time I will have run my very first 5K.

I have jogged before, even sprinted short distances. But I have never trained like this.  Never anything this intense, where for a time every day, I am committed to building my endurance, my stamina, and the habit of coming back day after day.  I thought that would be the hardest part.  But what I’m learning is that instead of getting harder, this training is getting easier.  And I find that the more I run, the more I think about running.  The more I can’t wait to get home for it.  I make plans for it.  I make time for it.  Daily.

But it’s not what you think.  I don’t need special shoes and I won’t get up at an obscene hour of the morning to don a number over a microfiber jogging shirt.  In fact, for this, I won’t even leave my house.  Won’t have to get out of my pajamas.

This kind of 5K was especially designed for me it seems.  Yet I’m not sure why I’ve never tried to conquer it before.

Running, for me, is what it feels like when the pads of my fingers fly over the keys and my mind races to keep pace.  You see, I have posted to this blog now for 14 days straight.  Tomorrow will be fifteen, and by my count, it will be tomorrow that I reach 5,000 words since the first of March.

5K.


slice of life challengeI am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge over at Two Writing Teachers.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. msjailew says:

    I looooooove this. You really had me completely drawn in. What a great way to think about this process and what an AMAZING play on the notion of what a 5K is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rachel reads says:

    Ha – you definitely had me fooled! I am a runner, but I definitely agree with you about the writing! It is training, and I am putting in that practice everyday. Congratulations on reaching 5K!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      To have fooled a runner: what a compliment! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

