Week One: A Found Poem – #sol15

Sunday:  A full dayFeet a foot of bed

Settled in

Prayers

Peace

The letting go

At day’s end.

Enlightened.

Proof.

Heart MirrorMonday:  Shower Night

groceries, dishes, homework, bath times and bedtimes

brief and fully present

A slice of me

A slice of it

But a slice nonetheless

Tuesday: Ain’t Mama’s Too Small

Prepared for this moment:

Shivering, chattering, feeling very grown up

I tried.

I tried again.

And tried again.

Hitching up one side, wriggling the wrinkles.

It caught my eye.

Oh? Oh. Oh!

Feeling completely ridiculous.

Not the least bit cold.

sore throatWednesday: Voices

Sore throat

No fever

Your voice

Their voices

Tiny

Being your mom

Changes.

Thursday: This WorksMicah and I (1)

Shadows play

Feet trudge. Feet shuffle.

Shadows at edges

Sun shining over.

Open the drapes.

Close. Without hesitation.

Open again.Micah and I

We laugh.

You would; yet I would never ask.

We laugh.

Wife.

Husband.

Joys of this world.

It does work.

ps3 controllerFriday: Figure it Out

The world, changed.

Urgent.

I coach into this moment.

Don’t even get to finish.

Sure of one thing:

Yet!

Saturday: A BossMuddy Tracks

He coaches, my heart races.

They don’t give me a chance.

She reaches. I hold my breath.

He helps her.  She eases.

He pulls.  I exhale.

I watch.  He instructs.Muddy Print

I brace.  She gases.

His voice floats.  My lips turn up.

She reaches.  I look to him.

I look to her.  She proclaims.

They are my life.


I’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge 2015. slice of life challenge Check it out at Two Writing Teachers.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jehansen13 says:

    I love this! What a interesting idea! What if we looked back on every week and pulled the nuggets from each day? I wonder what would stick out to us. Probably not all of the small daily irritations.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jaana says:

    Wow! This is amazing! I can’t even imagine what incredible posts you will be writing after week three or four!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you for your encouragement. I am so looking forward to weeks 3 and 4 and all the posts in between!

      Like

  3. VanessaVaile says:

    neat! I want to try that too with my posts for week 1

    Like

  4. eloularson says:

    What a great idea! Love how you captured your week.

    Like

  5. Carolyn Carr says:

    What a neat idea! I love that you made a recap of your week AND that it was a poem! How creative!

    Like

Leave a Reply

