Tiny Voices – #sol15

slice of life challengeThe caller-ID

(if that’s what they still call it)

shows the name

of your school.

Never a good sign.

Sore throat.

No fever. But

your voice sounds

so

tiny.

I remember sending kids to the clinic.

Remember them coming back to class.

Remember getting them

through to

the end

of the day.

It’s just a sore throat.

No fever.  But

did I listen for

the

tiny

in their voices?

Being your mom

changes

the kind of

teacher I am.

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanne Toft says:

    Isn’t it amazing how having kids changes who we are in so many ways?!

    I love your poem – nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morgan says:

      So many ways! I cannot even remember who I was before I held her.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JMFaith says:

    So true. Having a child has absolutely changed me as a teacher. It has really made me remember that each little face is someone’s baby.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beckymusician says:

    Lovely! I like the way you arranged your line breaks – it adds to the poem. I actually decided to become a teacher after having my two kids. I loved watching them grow and seeing how they learned, so I wanted to teach more kids!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      It is an amazing experience – seeing the world through the eyes of our own children. Thank you, Becky.

      Like

  4. Maureen says:

    Love, love, love these words: “did I listen for

    the

    tiny

    in their voices?”
    Such a beautiful and important thought for all teachers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank, you Maureen. It is bittersweet for me; makes me glad to now have this perspective and at the same time, makes me want those students back!

      Like

  5. ohhh! This is the sweetest post I have read today. This is so beautiful!!!

    Like

    1. Morgan says:

      Thank you, Morgan!

      Like

Leave a Reply

